top of page

Breaking Down Brotha Lynch Hung


Real Name: Kevin Danell Mann Born: 1969 (this nigga is WAY older than I thought) Genre: Horrorcore Discography: 6 albums since 92 Label: Strange Music w/ Tech N9ne Interesting note: a teenager killed a bunch of friends and ended up in a shootout with police after listening to one of his songs on repeat (though they determined his motive was about depression and a breakup) Another note: he sometimes just goes by Brotha Lynch

TRACKS

Meat Cleaver -(this one I focused on the video because it was so nuts) -The whole video starts out with a disclaimer which is always fun -"Yeah alot mf’s wanna talk soft, shocked when somebody else glock pop" -"Choppin em up and then I get a brand new one" -The look he gives when he drops some of these lines -The beat is haunting; but still has that cute lil ding in the back that makes it like a lullaby -He’s in some room with a woman strung up, taunting her -Then there’s a dead white lady and he’s playing with her body in a shower

-He’s covered in blood the whole time -I have no idea what the “sucking your son” thing is about at ALL -The end reverb is awesome Sweeney Todd -Sample of the story of Sweeney Todd -Sounds like crows in the background -7 on the beat! Aye! -"Ok, let me spit this scripture/After I kill a nigga I pull out the phone and take a quick picture" -I wish I had more to talk about, but it’s just a bunch of killing people in descriptive and horrid ways lol

Refuse To Lose ft Lokey -Reminds me of some Bone Thugs N Harmony-ish lol -"Fuck them 22’s" -Somebody is singing his ass off on the hook lol -Good riding song; reminds you of some old school

-The bass is classic

-In each verse, he flips between singing and rapping; he doesn't do that much nowadays


Krocadil -The beat makes the song, but the flow is hot too -The bass hits on the 8th notes are a bit overpowering

-Feels like it’s missing something in the hook -I love where the beat breaks down with the strings and hi hat -Could do without the “Eat the guts up”

Stabbed (ft Tech N9ne and Hospin) -NASTY BEAT -Has this same chord progression as this rock song I’mma have to think of the name of -They rap so fast, it’s hard to fully catch anything -I love the hook; Tech N9ne has the perfect amount of grit in his voice lol -Hospin verse is sexy; his verse is about being famous and it pissing him off -Tech N9ne’s verse did NOT stand out to me; Brotha Lynch was the same shit; best verse was Hospin; storytelling

Summary

My brother put me onto this man. I have no idea how he found this shit. Lol. Overall, he’s not bad and he definitely has some skills. However. He’d remind you of Eminem, but only the “3 AM” side. Out of six tracks I listened to, five had the same subject matter. It start getting old at a point. Like, how many different ways can you describe killing and eating folks? I also found another interesting fact: The chick in the Meat Cleaver video that is strung up in the middle was/is his girlfriend. This is interesting because, I just can’t see myself being with someone who so openly discusses murder; but hell, they might have a special bond. Lol. Outside of that, his music also has the common dark themed trap beats. Grinding bass lines with the lullaby twinkle on top. That seems to be a common thing with dark-themed music. The Refuse To Lose track is the one that I find myself singing from time to time. He’s from Cali, so this is the music that makes sense to me. It definitely has that West coast vibe and if you look hard enough, there’s some others in there. He’s never gonna be mainstream though. Lol.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page