top of page

What About: Pride by Kendrick Lamar

Artist: Kendrick Lamar ft Anna Wise, Steve Lacy, Bekon

Producers: Danny Keyz (Bekon), Anthony Tiffith, Steve Lacy

Released: 2017

Vibe: Super laid back; rock ballad

Yay or Nay: Love It

1st Listen:

-”Seems like I point the finger just to make a point nowadays”

-”I can’t fake humble just cuz yo ass is immature”

-We should be sitting in a circle smoking weed

-I wonder who is singing at the beginning...Bekon, it’s Bekon

-The beat drops a smidgen too early; surely intentional, but no. It pisses me off lol.

-It’s always difficult to follow Kendrick’s lyrics the first time, but the ones you hear are always moving

-It’s like the first verse is full of pride and the second is who he could be without it

Message:

Well considering the whole theme of sins and the bible and all this, I’d say the title makes it self explanatory. In my opinion, the opening is the theme. Pride is deadly to your person. I also think it’s the one you can be guilty of without noticing. But who wants to be a bitch and to be honest, in society nowadays, you’re frowned upon for being “humble”. Why should I dim my light because yours isn’t so bright? And that’s not a bad sentiment, but again, that line is thin before you cross over into being a dick.

Overall:

I picked this one on the album because it always makes me feel trippy. I am instantly sitting in a room with lava lamps and a haze in the room. Everybody has those circle sunglasses that don't cover shit. The 70's. But I want to focus on one section for a second. I thought he was saying "In another life I surely was better". I was wrong. The phrase is:

Me, I wasn't taught to share, but care

In another life, I surely was there

Me, I wasn't taught to share, but care

I care, I care

Some people are saying that it means he cares about himself and others but cannot bring himself to share what he has, whether it’s his wealth, advice, personal history, or possibly his position in the music industry, all potentially to maintain his own happiness over flashiness. It all fits with the whole album theme: struggling with one’s own character. I feel like I need to go read this whole genius interpretation of the DAMN album because, hell, Kendrick is too deep for me sometimes lol. Maybe he’s not as good as he thought he was, left his friends behind to perish, so he could be great. Maybe he wasn’t there for them like he though. Anna Wise is on this part. They even talked about the beat in contrast to the lyrics, which I did notice. He’s talking about being the greatest and knowing it over this chill ass beat. The same way he’s yelling at us to be humble over this heavy ass beat. The fun thing with K. Dot is you can already know you’re gonna have to dissect this album to understand it just a little bit. But you can also take my route and learn what it means to me over time while learning what it maybe meant to him.

Lyrics:

Bēkon Love's gonna get you killed But pride's gonna be the death of you and you and me And you and you and you and me And you and you and you and me And you and you and you and me and- Hook (Steve L. & Kendrick L.) Me, I wasn't taught to share, but care (In another life, I surely was there) Me, I wasn't taught to share, but care (I care, I care) Verse Hell-raising, wheel-chasing, new worldy possessions Flesh-making, spirit-breaking, which one would you lessen? The better part, the human heart You love 'em or dissect 'em Happiness or flashiness? How do you serve the question? See, in the perfect world, I would be perfect, world I don't trust people enough beyond they surface, world I don't love people enough to put my faith in men I put my faith in these lyrics, hoping I make amend I understand I ain't perfect I probably won't come around This time, I might put you down Last time, I ain't give a fuck, I still feel the same now My feelings might go numb, you're dealing with cold thumb I'm willing to give up a leg and arm and show empathy from Pity parties and functions and you and yours A perfect world, you probably live another 24 I can't fake humble just 'cause your ass is insecure I can't fake humble just 'cause your ass is insecure Hook (Steve L. & Kendrick L.)

Refrain (Kendrick L. & Anna W.) Maybe I wasn't there Maybe I wasn't there Maybe I wasn't there Maybe I wasn't there Verse Now, in a perfect world, I probably won't be insensitive Cold as December, but never remember what Winter did I wouldn't blame you for mistakes I made or the bed I laid Seems like I point the finger just to make a point nowadays Smiles and cold stares, the temperature goes there Indigenous disposition, feel like we belong here I know the walls, they can listen, I wish they could talk back The hurt becomes repetition, the love almost lost that Sick venom in men and women overcome with pride A perfect world is never perfect, only filled with lies Promises are broken and more resentment come alive Race barriers make inferior of you and I See, in a perfect world, I'll choose faith over riches I'll choose work over bitches, I'll make schools out of prison I'll take all the religions and put 'em all in one service Just to tell 'em we ain't shit, but He's been perfect, world Hook (Steve L. & Kendrick L.) [Kendrick Lamar & Anna Wise:] Maybe I wasn't there Maybe I wasn't there Maybe I wasn't there Maybe I wasn't there

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page