top of page

Song Anaylsis: Samples!!!!


Song: Wild Thoughts

Artist: Rihanna feat Bryson Tiller

Producer: DJ Khaled

Yay or Nay: It’s straight

-The solo, the whole sample, sounds like a basic version of the solo

-Bryson Tiller sound just like Chris brown, idc what yall say

-it’s a great vibe because the original song is the same vibe

-I like their lyrics though; that changes the whole song

-They never note who it is that played, so I’ll assume it’s from the original version

-I like how she says “Thoughts”

-the guitar licks throughout are pretty and that howl is perfect

-Maybe the guitar was always simple there, but he is playing acoustic here and he’s playing the strings hard

-In really think

-I lied yo. His solo is SOOOOOO much better

-And Santana spittin that and dude sang his ass off on the 2nd verse

-It means come on mama or something lol

-Wyclef random ass (open up your eyes)

Overall:

I like the remix to be honest. At first, I didn’t, but I think they (the artists) did a great job of changing the song up. I will say, Khaled definitely should have changed the beat up more because it’s legit, the exact same. But, I remember this is hip-hop and this is what we do.

 

Song: B.E.D.

Artist: Jaquees

Producer: Nash B, Jacquees, ForteBowie and Choyce

Yay or Nay: Not really feeling it

1st Listen: B.E.D. -Rap singing; sometimes don’t know what he’s saying -”21 with no kids” line is not an accomplishment -His version of the song is solely about fuckin -He can sing pretty well -I like the end background vocals; his lead vocals sound like he is screaming -The say yeahs should have been the damn sample

100th Listen: Read Your Mind -true love song kids; he wants to love her...sleep with her too...but also LOVE her lol -Avant has a really pretty singing voice; at times he’s corny to me; that sign lol -the hook on this was ALWAYS pullin -the bass stands out -the breakdown to the top of the song is a different bridge than we were used to in R&B -the outro (with those chords in the background vocals) is also a favorite

Overall: The sampled sections comes solely from the end of Avants' song and it’s not so much a a sample as a play on his lyrics. It’s the same key, I think, but the beats aren’t nearly as identical here.

 

Song: School Spirit

Artist: Kanye West

Producer: Kanye West

Yay or Nay: Fuck yes

-The whole album is based on him dropping out, so he’s rapping about not being in school

-Hook is reppin the NPHC frats and sororities; but he left out the iotas

-his flow is great over the whole beat, changing up the whole time

-the main sample comes from the super slow intro of Spirit In The Dark

-Then it sounds like he brought out the bgvs with some more layers

-he had to have sped that up alot to get her voice as high as it is

100th Listen: Spirit In the Dark Aretha Franklin -super slow intro; continues to growing in speed; goes into a church vibe at the end

-I know what she’s saying now lol

-It’s about having a good time and vibin; connecting in the night

-makes me wiggle

-reminds me of chain chain chain in the break down part; that’s her thing I guess

Overall:

So I love this shit. Probably cuz I’m greek, but I digress. I found an article and apparently Aretha said he could use the sample but he couldn’t curse on the song. I imagine he was like, that’s perfectly fine. Lol. So where he couldn’t remove the curses, he scratched em out. This, to me, is an example of a true sample. The whole songs and meanings are 1000 miles apart in topic, style, and design. It does rely on the sample itself, but it’s only part of the song and the cuts to the sample before it restarts is a staple of a dj mix. I guess there are better examples, but College Dropout is a classic and so is Aretha, so there.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page