top of page

What About: Love Less by R.LUM.R.

Artist: R.LUM.R

Producer: GB aka Gifted (I think)

Released: 2017

Vibe: Mid-Tempo R&B

Yay or Nay: Yea, it’s straight

1st Listen:

-Simple R&B joint to ride to -The hook is very full beat and harmony wise -Lyrics are fairly simple -It’s kind of a bit boring, but still sway worthy

-Throw ya lighters up and sing to your girl...except it's kind of a breakup song -"It's hard enough escaping my reflection/And thinking what he's thinking bout too" (Yassss) -During that pre-chorus, it reminds me of Blue Ocean Floor by Justin Timberlake

Message: I feel like the meaning to these lyrics is he truly wanted to be good for this woman, but he cannot for whatever reason. So instead of continuing to hurt her, he’ll just love less. That’s the only meaning I can find on my own. According to R.LUM.R., I was right. Lol. You’re pushing away love unknowingly to avoid getting hurt. “You’re like pushing away and creating this loneliness around yourself. I just kind of wanted to observe that other side of it with that song.” (Source)

Overall: I like the song. Definitely could have been a Trey Songz or Bobby Valentino jam. It’s pretty straightforward lyrically and in arrangement. It’s a simple R&B track with your random background sounds, 2 & 4 snare with the long lead in. But the bass kicks actually stand out to me. The hook seals the song up though, although the word less is kind of lost articulation wise. I can see this being a big single for him. I really focused more on the track and vocals here than the lyrics or how the song makes me feel.

Lyrics

Verse 1

First let me apologize Cause I know you're not gon' like this conversation I've been kinda hard to find And I know that you deserve an explanation Well I... Been thinking bout it How us applies to you I'm undecided On what I'm supposed to do I think I'm lying When I think I'm telling truth Either way, that's still unfair to you

Pre-Hook It's hard enough escaping my reflection And thinking what he's thinking bout too I know that all you wanted was affection Something I could never do

Hook What if I love less Cause you no more stress What if I love less I won't hurt you babe I won't hurt you babe What if I love less Cause you no more stress What if I love less I won't hurt you babe I won't hurt you babe

Verse 2 I already know what you gon' say It's unfair to be predicting how you feeling And "maybe we can compensate And concentrate on things that bring you healing" While I know that you're trying to help You should be trying to save yourself 'Cause I Been thinking bout it How "us" applies to you I'm undecided On what I'm supposed to do I think I'm lying When I think I'm telling truth Either way, that's still unfair to you

Pre-Hook It's hard enough escaping my reflection And thinking what he's thinking bout too I know that all you wanted was affection Something I could never do

Hook

Bridge Believe me when I say nobody's perfect That's something that we both know What if what we're risking isn't worth it? What if we're supposed to let it go?

Hook and Outro

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page